Are you strong?

Strong is a big word. Used to describe big things with a lot of power, big people. Big in character, in personality, in action. I like that word. But its funny how we mostly don’t use it, especially when describing our own selves. I’m not going to say I’m a strong woman when I’m saying stuff about myself. Maybe because I’m not physically strong which is not all that defines a person. 


Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong. ( 2 Corinthians 12:10) KJV. 

Paul listed the things that could make him feel weak. I could add some more. Sickness, poverty, divorce, continuous rejection, demotion at work, retrenchment, you could add to the list too. Yet it may not be what the issue is, as much as it is how we respond to what happens to us that defines us. I got diagnosed of  degenerative disc disease at 28 (a few months ago actually). I mostly can’t even tie my own shoelaces. So, I struggle more often than not. But there is this one thing that I know. It’s that there is always something good that comes out of the hard things in life. God can still use us even when we think our worth has been stripped off. John the Revelator was exiled on the isle of Patmos to die. The name “Patmos” means “my killing”. You can read about it here. The place had nothing growing on it or any other person he could talk to. Imagine that! I’d surely think that I’m done for. Yet, in all of that, he saw all the visions in the Book of Revelation in The Bible. He saw what no other human eye has seen. God used him inspite of his present circumstances and his surroundings at that time. God can do that to you and me. He is not limited by any of these things that we think should limit us or Him to use us for His glory. Unlike a broken jar, a broken soul can be filled by the Holy Spirit and not leak. He can make us whole and well able to achieve what He desires for us to in the state we are in right now. It doesn’t matter what that state is, when we are weak, then He makes us strong. May we bask in the strength that we have in God through Christ. 

Leave a Reply

