EDEN: where God dwells

Growing up on a farm was fun. I would wake up to the sounds of farm animals in the morning. Day duties would be contacted and I loved them. In the evening we would gather for a late night prayer by the fire. It was a norm. It was ceremonial. Day by day we gathered and prayed.

1 Samuel 1:7 And as he did so year by year, when she went up to the house of the LORD…

As I grew up and went to boarding school, I would come for holidays and would go and herd cattle in the paddocks. There was a favorite spot that I liked on top of the mountain. It was so high that I would view the rest of the farms and the highway road where I would see nice cars passing by. I would cherish and envy the cars as well as the surroundings. Indeed it was a beautiful place, with fresh air. I began to find myself every other day on that spot and I would envy the beautiful scenery. I would talk to myself, meditate, meditate and meditate.

I would go there to refresh and somehow, the place became so special. I would just go there to say a silent prayer. I felt the presence of God at that particular spot. Everytime I got stressed, I would go there to sit and say my silent prayer. I felt better everytime I came from that place. I would go there almost everytime to utter my prayers. As I finished my college and looked for a job, I visited the farm and I remembered my spot. A spot I felt the presence of God, a place where I felt God dwells. This time around I had a purpose. I wasn’t going there ceremoniously because I wanted a job. I had a purpose. I had to go there and declare what I wanted rather than watching nice cars passing by.

1 Samuel 1: 11 ….And she vowed a vow, and said, O LORD of hosts, if thou wilt indeed look on the affliction of thine handmaid, and remember me, and not forget thine handmaid….

I provoked the Lord because I wanted a job so that I could buy the cars that I used to view from the spot, my EDEN where God dwells.

Genesis 32:26 …. And he said, I will not let thee go, except thou bless me.

I left the spot happy and refreshed as I used to all the time. Fast forward, I got the job I prayed for. I’m happy and I thank God for the job. Recently I went back to the farm, visited the EDEN and I proclaimed to God that I do want a car and a wonderful family. And I know God will provide. EDEN.