Affectionately yours

Have you ever noticed how you can just love something just because you love it? And when you do, you just can’t not think about that one thing? And how you really treat that one thing with so much care and really make sure that it’s in a safe place and that it can feel, if it breathes , that it’s loved, cherished, adored, desired? Then all who see can testify that you absolutely love that one particular thing. I’m guessing that you might actually be smiling dreamily ( I hope that’s a word ) , just at the thought of it. That’s how much power love has. That’s what it does. It changes the object of your affection to the loved item. Your heart can testify to what you love. Your actions show that you love what you love. Your mind confirms to you that you are so into it. Oh. So. Beautiful.

You are loved like that. By the One who gave you life. The One who agreed with all of nature to place you at this exact spot in the universe, on this continent , in the arms of whoever it is who has been in contact with you. All those emotions you feel about your loved item, He feels that for you. He feels that for me. That moves my heart. To want to return the love. Not because it’s a command. But because it’s natural to return love to the one who’s giving it with His all. So it ceases to be a burden to pray. Because I long to talk to the lover of my soul. The One who doesn’t drowse because His eyes are on me.

Psalm 121:4-5 (GNT) The protector of Israel never dozes or sleeps. The Lord will guard you; he is by your side to protect you.

It ceases to be a life of dos and don’ts. For when I’m living, I’m doing all so that I please the One who is watching me with tender eyes full of love and admiration. I don’t measure myself with what the others are doing or not doing. It’s not important to me. What I long for is to show the One that can’t get enough of me that I am willing to walk in the depths of the deep for Him. For He is the object of my affections. So I will tend to act awkward sometimes, to the ones who don’t intend to revel in the most unconditional love that anyone can ever experience, but it doesn’t matter. Because I am in love. May you desire to return the love that matches no other. To find out how deep , how wide, how broad, the love of the Father is to us.

Ephesians 3:18-19 (NLT) And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.