The Barnabas Award

I am humbled to be nominated for the Barnabas Award. Excited too. There’s nothing as inspiring as being appreciated for the work you put out there. Thank you Lauri Hawley for nominating me. I love Scripture but Lauri is on another level. You can feel the passion and the delight in her posts. She puts out so many verses that give an insight into what she’s talking about. I am uplifted by her words. You can check out her blog by clicking on the link on her name that I’ve written up there!!

The way this Award works:

Thank the person who nominated you, and share their blog.

Think of five bloggers that encourage and inspire you and nominate them.

List five things about yourself.

Lastly, ask your nominees five questions. Why five? Because five is the number that signifies grace.

I’m excited to nominate these five bloggers who have had such an impact on my life and my faith:

Five things about myself:

  1. I love Bible stories and church history. I enjoy seeing the beauty of God being made manifest in people’s lives in an unusual, unexpected way. When you look at God’s power being made alive in us, it’s breathtaking. God’s love is like nothing else that anyone can ever experience.
  2. I am a music junkie. If I could, I’d spend all 24 hours of my day listening to one song or the other. I’m a big fan of all songs Christ exalting, God glorifying, beauty in action, whatever genre it is. I can span from gospel to accapella, rap to worship, electronic to contemporary from Zimbabwean artists, African artists and international artists.
  3. If there’s a chance to hang out with a particular group of people, I’d pick children. Any time of the day. They are genuinely affectionate, innocent, loyal and just downright sweet and adorable. Pretty special humans. No wonder Jesus spoke about how those that are as humble as children are the ones who will enter the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 18:4)
  4. I tend to gravitate towards a book of some sort for every spare second I get in this life. I am a lover of books, articles, stories, magazines, words. I research, I try to figure things out, I want to know what happened to who and how this person managed to overcome this issue. It’s just my passion.
  5. I am a laboratory person at work. We run samples for process control purposes and for analyzing and figuring things out. After work, I run my own laboratory at home. Where I use pots, pans, spoons, mixers, blenders, bowls to experiment on complex chemicals present in vegetables, herbs, spices, carbohydrates, meats, juices, salts. Oh it’s lovely. And there’s a reward all the time. I eat the product of my experiments. And my tongue agrees with what my eyes see in my plate. Then I thank God for the gift of senses and the provision of food. Even for letting us eat in the first place. It is a beautiful gift.

My answers to Lauri’s questions:

  1. My biggest encourager is my sister, Tumelo. She’s sweet, lovely, a good listener and she is forever praying for me.
  2. With me enjoying speaking with people from all walks of life, I’ve learnt to read from the way a person carries themselves that they have something on their mind. I don’t hesitate to ask and listen to those that need help. Where I can, I counsel. In other cases, I am just there to support.
  3. Oh I’m always having someone encouraging me. Just yesterday my mum was reminding me how I am free to tell God about my needs (Phillipians 4:7) then stop worrying about them. It meant a lot to me since I tend to worry a lot.
  4. Music. I listen to the words that uplift me while reminding me of who I am in Christ, who God is to me and about Who governs the world. I love theologically sound lyrics accompanied by a relaxing instrument background.
  5. When I first accepted Christ, I would consume as much sermons as I could. All of them by Joyce Meyer. She helped me grow. Encouraged my faith. Taught me to wipe my tears and go forward. I am grateful for her television presence. It helped build a solid foundation and a healthy sense of self worth during those early years.

My questions are:

  1. What is the one thing in your life that you will always be grateful for?
  2. If you were chosen to be a Bible character, who would you choose and why.
  3. What inspires/ inspired you to blog?
  4. From all of the Bible verses that you like, which one is the one that you mostly hold on to when life gets hard? Please write the verse and the actual words of the verse.
  5. There’s this one person who has been your inspiration and pillar in your life (I hope..). Who is that person?

So here it is. To those that I’ve selected, it’s not mandatory for you to respond but it would be nice to take part and get to know each other. I hope you’ll take time to respond. I can’t wait to see what you are going to write about!!

Lots of love from a Sister in Christ.

2 thoughts on “The Barnabas Award

  1. Thank you for responding, Thabiso! It’s lovely to get to know more about one another as sisters and brothers in the Lord. And thank you for sharing links to even more encouraging blogs! 😊
    Blessings on your day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment